The Show Must Go On...

It would be an understatement to say that the first quarter of 2020 has been a trial of unprecedented proportions for the whole world; I doubt there’s anybody who has not been impacted in some way. We can only extend our best wishes to all of our customers and hope that you and your families are safe and healthy.

The situation in our industry is no different: between the cancellation of the big shows, shutdowns in Switzerland and the inability for anybody to travel – to say nothing of the lockdown in Malaysia – it’s been a challenging time for all. At this point, I’d like to apologise again to those of you waiting for your 17.06s, 19.01s and 19.02s – the watches are finished, but shipping is on hold due to interruptions to shipping and customs services, I appreciate your patience until things return to normal somewhat.  

But this is not to say we haven’t been busy in the background. 2020 was planned to be a big year for us, and I believe it still will be: this is the year we introduce our second generation design language and a new level of refinement across the lineup, along with several watches we’ve wanted to make (and you’ve wanted us to make) for some time.

Judging by the number of emails we’ve been receiving; it seems demand is stronger than ever and I’m sure everybody could use something positive to look forward to given everything else that’s going on. Following some good news from our partners in Switzerland, we’re going to start unveiling the crabs we previewed earlier this year - starting with the first one next week.

It is appropriate that we begin the next generation with not just a ‘2’, but also inspired by going back to the concept around our beginnings: a refined, versatile piece for the enthusiast – with a twist, and a bit extra in every way. It’s quite a lot more watch than a 17, but not as big of a commitment as a 19. This is the watch I would loved to have launched MING with, if we’d known how, if we’d had the experience, if we’d had the access, and if we’d had the partners. Come to think of it, I suppose that means it’s a watch we couldn’t have made until now.

Needless to say, we’re all excited about this one: it’s the beginning of the next chapter of the MING story, and I sincerely hope you’ll join us for the ride. MT

The MING 27.01 launches Friday, 1 May 2020, at 1PM GMT*, and as usual will be available to order exclusively at www.ming.watch 

*Due to daylight savings, that’s 6AM San Francisco, 9AM New York, 2PM London, 3PM Europe, 9PM Kuala Lumpur, and 11PM Melbourne.

Subscribe to our newsletter:

← Older Post Newer Post →